Indie Interview: KJ Chapman

The last Indie Interview with Suzanne Rogerson was received so well I thought I’d ask KJ Chapman, whose new book Thrown to the Blue is being released on the 11th of November, to take part. And she agreed.

32273178

Hi, Kay. Welcome to Read A Lot. Congratulations on the upcoming release of your book Thrown to the Blue.

Thank you for having me. It’s a pleasure to be invited to join you.

Q: Had you always planned on becoming a published author?

A: I always knew I wanted to write. For years, that was all I did. I wrote short stories, novels, bits of ideas, but I never got as far as publishing. With my first novel, EVO Nation, I knew I would publish whether it be traditional or self-publishing. I had many rejections from literary agents, so I opted for self-publishing and I’m so glad I did.

Q: What made you choose to write sci-fi and fantasy novels?

A: I love to read sci-fi and fantasy, so it was a natural progression to write in those genres. I write for me. I do it because I enjoy it, and sci-fi and fantasy keep it fun.

Q: What inspired you to write Thrown to the Blue?

A: Thrown to The Blue was inspired by my idea for an anti-heroine of sorts. I had one of my main protagonists, Ezrahli, in my head for a long while, and once I finished book two in my EVO Nation series, EVO Shift, I wanted a break from those characters and Ezrahli got her time. The whole drafting process of Thrown to The Blue felt incredibly straight forward and easy. The story developed organically and I’m pleased with the result.

Q: Did you find it easiest to write with a schedule or with no time restrictions?

A: No time restraints. That is another reason why I’m glad I chose the self-publishing route. I don’t think creativity can be given a deadline.

Q: Can you choose a favourite character?

A: From my EVO Nation series my favourite character is Golding. From Thrown to The Blue, my favourite is Ezrahli.

Q: Was there ever a point while you were writing your book when you wanted to give up?

A: I’ve never thought about giving up. I told myself that there is someone out there who will like what I write, and if the only people to read my books were family and friends, then that’s fine too.

Q: What is the worst part of the writing process for you?

A: Editing- specifically redrafting. Redrafting shows me how much fluff I add in. I end up cutting a fair bit and it can be a bit disheartening. I tell myself it is for the greater good.

Q: How much of your stories do you plan, or do you find it easier to make them up as you go along?

A: I’m a pantser. I start with a clean slate, possibly a couple of vague ideas and characters, and then I see where it takes me. This makes drafting fun for me. If I knew exactly where I was taking the narrative, I’d find it a dull experience.

Q: Do you have a favourite piece of writing advice?

A: Writing should be fun. Write how you want, when you want, where you want. Listen to advice from other writers/ writing books, but chose what you act upon. Right and wrong doesn’t exist in writing, so do you, and do it big.

Q: Where can people learn more about your books?

A:  Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Pinterest 

Amazon

Goodreads

Blog

Q: What have you learned since starting your writing journey?

A: 1. Not everyone will like your work, but that’s what makes it special. Just like people, your book should have personality.

2. Self-publishing requires just as much marketing as writing.

3. If you set your mind to something, you can do it.

Q: What’s next for you?

A: Once Thrown to The Blue is released on Nov 11th 2016, I shall start drafting the third and final book in my EVO Nation series, EVO Ghost. Fans of the series have been pestering me, and to be honest, the characters are screaming at me to turn my attention back to them.

Thank you for having me on your blog!

have-your-eyes

Foretellings have no place for goodness, only greatness. Princess Ezrahli is far from good, but she is a great woman in a conventional Kingdom, followed by whispers and scorn. However, across the waters is un-convention, magic, and fable. Her existence has been foretold in the battle against dark magic, and destiny shall weave itself into her life because darkness cannot be fought with goodness, only greatness.

Smuggling and sorcery leads to adventure, and adventure leads to destiny. Reed is a prince of the streets, but what he lacks in title, he makes up for in skill; a skill that sets him on a path already written in fate. Can he be more than what is expected? Can he enable greatness in another and survive the process?

Vengeance is a motivator, but it can never be your friend. In the end, it will ask for sacrifice, and only the great will pay the fare

 

5 thoughts on “Indie Interview: KJ Chapman

Leave a Reply

