Thursday Update

I know it’s a bit late, but Merry Christmas. I hope everyone got all the books and chocolates they wanted (I got 5 bars of Galaxy and a Terry’s Chocolate Orange), and that your games of Monopoly didn’t destroy too many relationships.

I’ve been trying to make a list of my New Year’s Resolutions but haven’t found anything not too unreasonable. So far all I’ve got is to start using ebooks instead of paperbacks because there’s no room on my shelves, although I broke that already by buying The Selection series by Kiera Cass. The five of them were £7.99 in total and considering that’s the price for them individually, I didn’t even consider downloading them on my Kindle.

Has anybody else been taking advantage of the Christmas sales by stocking up on reading material?

I don’t think I’ll be able to concentrate on any books until Sherlock comes back, and then if series 4 is anything like series 3, I’ll be too traumatised when it’s finished to do much but rewatch it over and over until I can quote it backwards (that’s an exaggeration, but I did try once to translate the phone conversation from The Reichenbach Fall into French because I was bored but I never finished it because I heard that series 4 was going to be the last series and it pissed me off.)

On a lighter note, The Game Begins will be 1 in February, so I’ll be discounting the price for that whole week and I might (if I’m feeling brave enough) share the aesthetics board I’ve made on Pinterest. I started a little dream casting board after someone (actually two someones) told me who they thought of when they read the descriptions for Marshall and Matt, but that board will be kept private because it’d spoil the sequel.

I’ve managed to get quite a bit of writing done over the festive period, and I spent last night looking at covers on The Book Cover Designer because I felt like treating myself. There were two I absolutely fell in love with but only one which was relevant, so now I have a book cover for a book which is only half finished and an idea for another one.

And I haven’t even considered what the blurb will say. It took me weeks the last time, and even then I wasn’t 100% happy with it.

With Book 2 (it’s still really weird to say that I’m working on a second) I’m going to be a little more organised so every chapter is planned and there’s some dialogue written and timelines sorted out, and when I move on to the editing stage, which hopefully will be by the middle or end of January, I’ll start posting some quotes and I’ll do a cover reveal, too.

But don’t get me started on word count targets.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Thursday Update

Leave a Reply

