Indie Interview: Terez Peipins

Today’s Indie Interviewee is Terez Peipins, a fellow mystery writer whose novel Snow Clues was inspired by her work at a publishing company.

Image result for snow clues teresa peipins

Hi, Terez. Welcome to Read A Lot.

Q: Had you always planned on becoming a published author?

It’s something I always dreamed of but I wouldn’t say I planned.

Q: What inspired you to write Snow Clues?

I had lived in Spain for close to 20 years and returned to the area where I grew up. Buffalo was a mix of rust belt and potential when I got here. Memories were everywhere.

Q: What made you choose the genre?

I worked as a reader for a publishing house in Barcelona for close to 7 years. My last assignment was reading and reporting on mysteries. I wasn’t thrilled about that in the beginning but I soon found I liked the resolution in those novels and the idea of justice.

I read all of Henning Mankell and Robert Wilson.

Q: What is the book about?

The main character, Dan Kiraly, is faced with his own demons when he is trying to solve a particularly gruesome crime. The novel is not focused on the crime itself but on the solution and how Dan comes to terms with his past.

Q: Do you find it easier to write with a schedule or with no time restrictions?

I prefer to write with no restrictions but that is very hard to manage with a day job. When I am working on a project it’s not hard to continue whenever I can.

Q: Can you choose a favourite character from your book?

Dan’s sister, Maggie. She is a no-nonsense person who anchors his life.

Q: Was there ever a point while you were writing when you wanted to give up?

No. I have manuscripts that I can put aside with the idea their time will come. I did that with Snow Clues.

Q: What is the worst part of the writing process for you?

The worst part is when you think you are finished and round after round of editing clearly shows you’re not.

Q: How much of your stories do you plan, or do you make them up as you go along?

I may start with a general idea of where I would like the story to go. However, the stories tell themselves and the characters often surprise me.

Q: Do you have a favourite piece of writing advice?

Don’t let rejection keep you from writing. Keep the faith and keep at it.

Q: Where can people learn more about your books?

I have several Facebook pages: Teresa Peipins Snow-Clues and my blog

Q: What have you learned since you started writing?

I have learned that writing is what I most want to do. I was recently diagnosed with cancer and I knew I had to have work ahead of me (editing and revising) to make living worthwhile.

Q: What’s next for you?

I have a sequel to this novel. I want to keep Detective Dan Kiraly alive. I have several poems forthcoming in various publications.

Leave a Reply

