Indie Interview: Suzanne Rogerson

unnamed (2).jpg

A long, long time ago (last year) I started this Indie Interview series, and one of the first authors I talked to was Suzanne Rogerson, the then author of Visions of Zarua, a standalone epic fantasy novel.

Suzanne’s been spending the past year promoting her book, so when I heard she was publishing a new novel, I was pleased when I was asked to be a stop on The Lost Sentinel blog tour.

You can check out the other blogs Suzanne will be visiting this month below.

unnamed (1)

Hi, Suzanne. Welcome back to Read A Lot.

Thank you, it’s great to be here again.

Q: Tell us a bit about your new book, The Lost Sentinel.

The magical island of Kalaya is dying, along with its Sentinel. With the Kalayan people turning their back on magic, can Tei help the exiles find their new Sentinel before it’s too late?

Q: What made you return to the fantasy genre?

I can’t imagine writing any other genre and even when I try to it always turns into a story best suited to fantasy. I love heroic characters and I can’t imagine creating them in another setting.

Q: Was it easier to write than your last book, or harder?

I’ve been writing both books for years on and off, so it’s difficult to tell which one was harder. I would say that I’ve learnt a lot in the process of writing and publishing Visions of Zarua, so perhaps that has made it easier to get on with The Lost Sentinel.

I know what I’m doing now and I’m more confident about being an author. I also know that I can finish a project, and that readers have enjoyed my past work. Knowing you have an audience waiting on your next book is inspiring – as well as a little terrifying!

Q: Did you have a writing schedule or did you write when you had the inspiration?

I just try to write as often as I can. I write when the kids are at school, in the evenings, at weekends – whenever I have a spare minute. My mind is always half on my books, which can lead to some odd conversations.

Thankfully, my husband is used to the strange questions I throw at him.

Q: Can you choose a favourite character from your book?

Garrick is the loveable hero in this book. He’s protective and loyal, but also fun and tries to keep things light-hearted. He’s selfless and strong, and Tei is lucky to have him watching out for her.

Q: Was there ever a point while you were writing when you wanted to give up?

I’ve never wanted to stop writing as I don’t feel happy when I’m not involved in a story.

The very idea of not writing feels me with dread. When I consider that this perfect little life I have right now could be swallowed up by the dreaded W word (work!), I feel almost physically sick.

Q: You said last time the worst part of the writing process was the gap between projects. Is that the same, or has that changed?

This time it’s different because I’m writing a series, so I’m constantly thinking and planning the next book and beyond. I also have other books waiting to be written, so my mind is always full of stories and characters desperate for their stories to be told.

Q: How much of the book did you plan, or do you make them up as you go along?

This book has been through various stages of planning and winging it. In the beginning, I wrote a few scenes, and then planned what happened next on a small scale. I built up the story as I got to know the characters until eventually things seem to magically fall into place.

Q: Do you have a favourite piece of writing advice?

If you want to be a writer, write.

You can’t get much better advice than that!

Q: Where can people learn more about your books?

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Amazon Author page

The Lost Sentinel

Visions of Zarua

Q: Have you learned anything new since writing this book?

I’ve realised that I still rely very much on my beta readers and their feedback. The idea of publishing without their input is horrible!

I’ve also realised that I don’t ever want to stop writing and publishing books. Being able to do this is a dream come true.

Q: What’s next for you?

I’m planning to publish book 2 in the Silent Sea Chronicles – The Sentinel’s Reign in 2018 so I need to get cracking with the editing and adding in additional scenes before handing it over to my beta readers. I hope to draft book 3 during Nanowrimo this year, but we’ll have to see how that goes because I said the same thing last year!

Thanks for having me again, Rebecca.

unnamed

Silent Sea Chronicles

The Lost Sentinel – Book 1

The magical island of Kalaya is dying, along with its Sentinel. With the Kalayan people turning their back on magic, can Tei help the exiles find their new Sentinel before it’s too late?

Kalaya is controlled by the Assembly – set up to govern but now under the control of Rathnor, who is intent on persecuting those who have magic, many of whom have taken refuge in the Turrak Mountains.

Tei has been raised to hide her magic, until her father, Migil, is visited by an old friend who warns them that they must seek refuge in the mountains.

On the journey, an enemy attack leaves her father mortally wounded. He sees her into the care of two exiles, Rike and Garrick, and on his deathbed makes a shocking confession that changes Tei’s life.

Tei must put her trust in these strangers, especially when mysterious Masked Riders seem determined to stop her reaching Turrak.

Struggling with self-doubt, Tei joins the exiles in their search for their lost Sentinel. But the Masked Riders want the Sentinel too, and time, as well as hope, is running out.

Can Tei help the exiles save the island magic and reunite the Kalayan people before their ignorance destroys them all?

Buy from Amazon today.

