Thoughts On: Boys Beware by Jean Ure

ure

Minor spoilers ahead.


I was answering some questions for one of a few author interviews I’m taking part in this month, and one of them asked about my favourite books growing up. It took me the best part of an hour to try and whittle that list down, and eventually I got to Jean Ure and Jacqueline Wilson. But in the end I settled for Jean Ure because her books were still within arm’s reach and a quick read-through reminded me of how funny her characters were.

Naturally after this I felt a bit nostalgic, so I picked up the first one I came across and it was Boys Beware.



Title: Boys Beware

Author: Jean Ure

Published: 2011

Genres: Family, friends &social issues. Humorous. Love and romance.

Buy From: Amazon 


Blurb: Even though Tash and Emily go to a nunnery (well, an all girls’ school, which amounts to the same thing!), they are into boys in a BIG WAY. They’re also stepsisters and the hugest of best friends. So when their mum and dad have to go Peru for work for a couple of months, leaving the girls in their own flat in Aunty Jay’s house, they are seriously excited.

Of course they’ve got to take their weird elder sister, Ali, hundreds of her Star Trek videos and Fat Man the cat, but apart from that they are INDEPENDENT GIRLS. And when they find out that there’s a dishy boy living in the flat downstairs, they just can’t believe their luck…


Thoughts On: 

Premise:****

I loved the sound of this book when I read it for the first time. Two teenage girls and their reluctant sister getting to stay on their own made me jealous, and made my imagination run wild.

Storytelling: ***

Emily got distracted a lot by boys. And she picked on her sister.

Characters: ****

Typical teenagers. Emily and Tash’s main concern when their mum considers letting them stay in their aunt’s empty flat for 8 (!!!)  weeks isn’t about food or clothes or anything important, but parties. And boys.

Plot: ***

Some of the schemes Emily and Tash came up with were a bit cringe-worthy, but their antics were funny enough to be overlooked and I felt sorry for Ali most of the time. All she wanted was to stay in her room and watch her Star Trek videos.

Ending: ****

Not what I was expecting.

Recommend: If you’re feeling nostalgic and want to read something completely different from the dark, gritty stuff you usually read.


The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine only. I have not been paid for this review.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thoughts On: Boys Beware by Jean Ure

Leave a Reply

