Thoughts On: 11.22.63 by Stephen King

There are plenty of books on my shelves I’m yet to start reading, but as is my habit, I went in search of more reading material at my local library. After reading On Writing, I decided I’d give some of Stephen King’s other novels a try, and in the K section, there were the usual suspects- Carrie, It, etc- but 11.22.63 caught my attention because it took up so much space and I knew if I finished that in the borrow period, I’d be pleased with myself, so I decided it would be my next pick.


11.22.63 by [King, Stephen]


Title: 11.22.63

Author: Stephen King

Published: 2012

Genres: Alternative history. Time travel. Fiction.

Buy From: Amazon. Book Depository.


Blurb:  WHAT IF you could go back in time and change the course of history? WHAT IF the watershed moment you could change was the JFK assassination? 11.22.63, the date that Kennedy was shot – unless . . .


Thoughts:

The premise sounded intriguing enough, I’ll give the book that. Time travel. History. Time travel.

Did I mention time travel?

Okay, so maybe that prospect played more than a passing role in my decision to pick up 11.22.63. I’m a sucker for a good piece of historical fiction, and although this one isn’t technically a historical novel, it is set in the past, and I loved Jake’s attempts at fitting in.

This isn’t one of the Stephen King novels I see people posting about a lot, but I couldn’t understand why when I was reading it. Jake was just the right amount of sceptical and curious when he’s first told that there’s a wormhole in his friend’s cafe that will allow him to travel back to 1958, and his initial concern when he decides that he wants to go back in time isn’t to save JFK but to prevent one of his students from becoming a victim of a horrifying attack, which greatly improved my outlook on where the story was heading.

A downside, however, is the lack of concern for the so-called butterfly effect every time-traveller in every book ever is always so worried about, although that does make this book a little bit different from the others. It’s mentioned at the beginning, but only given the occasional reference after that, and I know everything Jake did made me wonder about what was going to happen to the future he’d left behind.

But for the most part, I loved this book. The story stands on its own, which was a bonus, the characters were interesting enough and the story kept me turning pages, so, like I said, I don’t understand why nobody talks about this one.


The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine only. I have not been paid for this review.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

