Thoughts On: Silence is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher

MotorWheels

Minor spoilers ahead.


I’ve posted book reviews before, but I’ve never been quite happy with the layout or how I’ve approached them. That’s why there haven’t been many reviews recently, but I worked out this technique, and it’s going well so far, so hopefully this blog being called ‘Read A Lot’ won’t be ironic any longer.

Some of my older reviews have been rescheduled, but I have a few newer ones for you coming soon, and the first of these is Silence is Goldfish.



Title: Silence is Goldfish

Author: Annabel Pitcher

Published: 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Being a Teen, Coming of Age

Buy From: Amazon


Blurb: I have a voice but it isn’t mine. It used to say things so I’d fit in- to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn’t. It lied.

Fifteen-year-old Tess doesn’t mean to become mute. At first, she’s just too shocked to speak. And who wouldn’t be? Discovering your whole life has been a lie because your dad isn’t your real father is a pretty big deal.

When Tess sets out to find the truth of her identity, she uncovers a secret that could ruin multiple lives- but how can she ask for help when she’s forgotten how to use her voice?


Thoughts On:

Premise: ***

I wasn’t quite sure what to make of this at first. It seemed like a heavy subject and I couldn’t imagine the book being anything but serious.

Storytelling: ****

Annabel Pitcher tells Tess’s story from Tess’ POV, and I think that was what made it less serious than it would have been if it had been told from someone else’s.

There were no huge, in-depth analyses, and Tess’ reaction and her recovery felt completely natural and not rushed or forced in the slightest.

Characters: ****

Tess’ reaction was completely realistic when she reads something she isn’t supposed to at the start of the book, and I felt sorry for her as she struggled to try and come to terms with what she learned; Mr Richardson was a douche, and I’d happily read more of Tess and Mr Goldfish’s adventures together.

Plot: ****

The book didn’t revolve around how upsetting Tess’ news was, although that was what I was expecting after I read the blurb. Her being mute didn’t feel like a plot device, either, and she didn’t choose to stop talking for the attention or because she just felt like it, and that definitely improved my opinion on the story.

Ending: ****

Tess breaks her silence to tell the truth, and finally hears the whole story.

Recommend: If you’re looking for a YA novel with a twist.


The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine only. I have not been paid for this review.

Leave a Reply

