Thoughts On: Zombie Playlist by K.J. Chapman

Minor spoilers ahead.


My second ever ARC read, Zombie Playlist completely lived up to what I’d been expecting after reading K.J. Chapman’s entries for the #FICTFBFEB17 challenge on Instagram, and from what I’ve seen, the rest of her ARC readers agree that this is one indie novella you don’t want to miss this year.


Zombie Playlist: A Novella by [Chapman, K.J. ]


Title: Zombie Playlist

Author: K.J. Chapman

Published: 2017

Genres: Science Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Short stories.

Buy from: Amazon


Blurb: Dagger has survived the zombie apocalypse with nothing save a metal bat, blades, and assholery. With the company of an IPOD she attained courtesy of Dead-Dude, and King, the Bunker-Boy straggler she somehow acquired on her journey, she travels to the coast, putting down zombies, blowing up high-grade assholes, and teaching King how to ditch his pre-apocalypse conscience and keep his yellow ass alive.


Thoughts On:

Premise: ***

I’m going to be honest here and admit I’m not a big fan of post-apocalypse stories. The ones I’ve read or heard of are so doom and gloom, and there’s enough of that without fiction adding to the pile. But then came K.J. Chapman’s new project, Zombie Playlist, and teasers for its upcoming release, and I got curious.

Storytelling: ****

The story’s told from Dagger’s POV, and her lack of sugarcoating as to the state of things makes for a refreshing read.

Characters: ****

Dagger is awesome, though I did feel a bit sorry for her at times. She takes things as they are, and her acceptance of them and tough-shit attitude would make her a post-apocalypse companion worth having.

King, on the other hand, is a teeny bit annoying at the start, but he makes up for that near the end.

Plot: ****

The zombie apocalypse is almost a subplot at some points, but that worked for me because I wasn’t reading to see how K.J. Chapman put her own spin on the zombie uprising and how the world coped; I was reading for something different, and Dagger’s survival methods and outlook were definitely that.

Ending: ****

I kind of want of a sequel now.

Recommend: If you want to read an apocalyptic novella with a different take.


The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine only. I have not been paid for this review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

