Thoughts On: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Minor spoilers ahead.


In my attempts to make this blog’s title less ironic, I spent yesterday afternoon going through all of the book’s I’ve read recently and made a list of ones to review. That list was small at first, until I decided to go around my bookshelves and choose a title from every letter of the alphabet since I’ve barely posted any reviews and I’m not a fast enough reader to finish a book every week.

So here’s my review of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.



Title: All The Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Published: 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Contemporary

Buy from: Amazon


Blurb: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?


Thoughts On: 

Premise: ***

I wasn’t quite sure what to make of All The Bright Places at first. The blurb doesn’t really tell you much, and I hadn’t seen anybody else’s reviews, but the first chapter got me interested and so I kept reading.

Storytelling: ****

Switches between Finch and Violet’s POV, and I think it’s this which makes ATBP different. You get to see what’s going on in their heads, and their justification for everything they do, and the alternating chapters keeps the story from becoming too grim.

Characters: ***

I’ve got to admit I wasn’t really a fan of Finch at the start. He was a bit too obnoxious in the beginning, but as I read on and got to understand him better, I decided I didn’t mind him. Although that being said, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t cry at that part.

Plot: ***

Along the same lines as The Fault In Our Stars, namely, if you don’t like sad books, don’t read this one. There was the occasional lighter moment, but those only made the rest of the scenes sadder.

Ending: ***

“It’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

Violet decides to finish her and Finch’s school projects, and realises he added something without telling her.

Recommend: Yes


The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine only. I have not been paid for this review.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Thoughts On: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. OH my this book was just so emotional and all the happy moments just,,, made everything else so much sadder and THAT PART I was a sobbing mess I tell you! NOPe nope nope I cannot cry now! It was so emotional!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

